Skip to main content

Loverboys

The loverboy scam always follows the same pattern: Offenders pretend that they have found their one true love, make girls or young women emotionally dependent on them and then force them into prostitution.

Initial contact is usually made via social networks and dating sites. Loverboys begin this process by deliberately seeking out girls and young women who demonstrate low self-esteem or who are having problems at school or with their families. 

The offenders pretend to have a love affair or relationship with their victims over weeks and months while making them submissively dependent, whereby the victim is often completely separated from her family and circle of friends. With only this relationship left in their lives, it is often impossible for victims to escape the offender’s hold over them. 

Die Umrisse eines Herzens bestehend aus einem Stacheldraht

Loverboys subsequently entice or force their victims into prostitution. The perpetrators pretend to these girls and women that they are suffering from financial difficulties and that they want to use the money earned to build a future together. It is often the case that perpetrators use drugs and physical or psychological abuse in order to exploit their victims or they severely intimidate them. 

The loverboy method is still not widely known about among young people. This Explainer video “Say no! – sexual exploitation and loverboys” wishes to educate the public about this issue and sensitise them to it.

Find help fast
Victims, their loved ones, friends and other interested parties can find further information about how loverboys use love as a ploy and their methods, preventative and protective measures against human trafficking and sexual exploitation as well as help and support services for girls and women on the website of the Ministry for Regional Identity, Communities and Local Government, Building and Gender Equality.

Direkt zum Inhalt

Loverboys

Die Loverboy-Masche ist immer dieselbe: Die Täter täuschen die große Liebe vor, machen Mädchen oder junge Frauen emotional abhängig und treiben sie in die Prostitution.

Der Erstkontakt erfolgt besonders häufig über soziale Netzwerke und Dating-Portale. Dabei suchen die Loverboys bewusst nach Mädchen und jungen Frauen, die ein mangelndes Selbstbewusstsein zeigen oder Probleme in der Schule oder in ihrer Familie haben. 

Die Täter täuschen über Wochen und Monate eine (Liebes-)Beziehung zu ihren Opfern vor und machen sie hörig, wobei die Opfer meist vollständig von ihrem Familien- und Freundeskreis getrennt werden. Die isolierte Bindung macht es den Betroffenen fast unmöglich, sich dem Zwang der Täter zu entziehen. 

Loverboys

Später verleiten oder zwingen die Loverboys ihre Opfer zur Prostitution. Den Mädchen und jungen Frauen wird eine finanzielle Notlage vorgetäuscht oder vorgespielt, das verdiente Geld zum Aufbau einer gemeinsamen Zukunft verwenden zu wollen. Nicht selten nutzen die Täter zur sexuellen Ausbeutung ihrer Opfer Drogen, körperliche und psychische Gewalt oder schüchtern diese massiv ein. 

Die Loverboy-Methode ist unter Jugendlichen immer noch zu wenig bekannt. Das Erklärvideo „Sag nein! – zu sexueller Ausbeutung und Loverboys“ will aufklären und die Öffentlichkeit für dieses Thema sensibilisieren.

Schnelle Hilfe finden
Weitere Informationen über die Masche mit der Liebe und das Vorgehen von Loverboys, über Präventions- und Schutzmaßnahmen gegen Menschenhandel zur sexuellen Ausbeutung sowie Hilfs- und Unterstützungsangebote für Mädchen und Frauen finden Betroffene, ihre Angehörigen, Freunde sowie sonstige Interessierte auf der Internetseiten des Ministeriums für Heimat, Kommunales, Bau und Gleichstellung.